Innovate

Create | Innovate | Project Work | About | Contact | Other Topics

Here you will find information on creative problem-solving. I’ve included engineering, design thinking, makers, human-centered design, and creativity resources.

DESIGN THINKING HANDOUTS
Design Challenge Notebook click here
Online Resources and Books https://goo.gl/BRrvw1
Participant Worksheet https://goo.gl/RmNDUJ
Design Thinking Cheat Sheet https://goo.gl/wawGNi
Design Thinking Summary https://goo.gl/KpVpe8

STARTING PLACES IN GENERAL
Stanford d.school – ​http://dschool.stanford.edu/ (in particular – Tools for Taking Action)
Human-Centered Design – http://www.designkit.org/human-centered-design
Innovators’ Compass – http://innovatorscompass.org/

STARTING PLACES FOR EDUCATION
Tinker Kit Educators Guide –  Tinker Kit Educators Guide
Launch Book & Resources – http://thelaunchcycle.com/
Innovators’ Compass – http://innovatorscompass.org/
Design Thinking for Educators – https://designthinkingforeducators.com/
Design For Change – http://www.dfcworld.com/ (create an account to access all their resources for free)
Maker Ed – http://makered.org/
Harvard Project Zero – Visible Thinking – http://www.pz.harvard.edu/projects/visible-thinking
Harvard Project Zero – Agency by Design – http://www.pz.harvard.edu/projects/agency-by-design
Copper Hewitt Educator Resources – https://www.cooperhewitt.org/education/professional-development/educator-resources/

MODELS
Engineering Design Process Models (We use The Massachusetts Department of Education one listed first) ​http://linkengineering.org/Discover/EngineeringDesign/5824.aspx
LAUNCH Cycle http://www.spencerauthor.com/the-launch-cycle/
Design Sprint https://www.thesprintbook.com/how

MINDSETS & METHODS
DesignKit – designkit.org mindsets & methods

PROTOTYPING APPS & SOFTWARE
Prototyping on paper (great for App Design) https://marvelapp.com/pop/
Floorplanner (great for room redesign) https://floorplanner.com/
Tinkercad (3D prototypes)  https://www.tinkercad.com/
InVision https://www.invisionapp.com/

BOOKS
Launch Book & Resources – http://thelaunchcycle.com/
Empower – http://empowerbook.co/
Creating Innovators – http://creatinginnovators.com/
Make Space – https://dschool.stanford.edu/resources/make-space-excerpts
The Third Teacher – http://thethirdteacherplus.com/resources
Creative Confidence – https://www.creativeconfidence.com/
Big Magic – https://www.amazon.com/Big-Magic-Creative-Living-Beyond/dp/1594634726
A Makerspace in the Science Area – Big Questions for Young Minds book by NAEYC- https://www.naeyc.org/resources/pubs/books/big-questions-young-minds
Making and Tinkering With STEM – https://www.naeyc.org/resources/pubs/books/making-and-tinkering-with-stem
Design a Better Business https://www.amazon.com/Design-Better-Business-Strategy-Innovation/dp/1119272114/
Sprint: How to Solve Big Problems and Test New Ideas in Just Five Days https://www.amazon.com/Sprint-Solve-Problems-Test-Ideas/dp/150112174X/
The Most Magnificent Thing (good book for intro with younger students – before beginning prototyping) https://www.amazon.com/Most-Magnificent-Thing-Ashley-Spires/dp/1554537045
The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything https://www.amazon.com/Element-Finding-Passion-Changes-Everything/dp/0143116738/
Invent to Learn – https://inventtolearn.com/  

RESOURCES
Tackling Heropreneurship – http://tacklingheropreneurship.com/
Design Dash Remixable – http://molly.is/writing/design-dash/
Tufts Center for Engineering Education and Outreach – http://ceeo.tufts.edu/
STEM Teaching Tools ​- http://stemteachingtools.org/tools
K-12 Fab Labs and Makerspaces Google Group https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/k-12-fablabs
Design Thinking Resources here – goo.gl/3obhmR
Maker Resources – http://dsmakers.weebly.com/
Pinterest – https://www.pinterest.com/kaytree38/
Venture Lab – https://venturelab.org/curriculum/
EPICS K-12 – https://engineering.purdue.edu/EPICS/k12

ARTICLES
Teaching Entrepreneurship using Sprint (July 2018) https://sprintstories.com/teaching-entrepreneurship-using-sprint-6d44ae4b6a6c
Design Sprints for Kids: Unlocking the next generation’s creativity https://sprintstories.com/sprints-for-kids-unlocking-the-next-generations-creativity-775bd28892af
Duke School Magazine – https://www.yumpu.com/en/document/view/62864468/10008-duke-school-magazine

INNOVATION STORIES
What If? – https://www.thehenryford.org/explore/stories-of-innovation/what-if/
Fall 2019 Under the Oak – https://www.yumpu.com/en/document/read/62864468/duke-school-under-the-oak-magazine-fall-2019
Fall 2018 Under the Oak – https://www.yumpu.com/en/document/read/62180432/duke-school-under-the-oak-magazine-fall-2018

Innovation Blog Posts

Project Ideas from BITlab year in review

Below from https://medium.com/the-art-of-the-school-makerspace/bitlab-year-in-review-91d45bd1cee9 Poster Bombing — One of the projects from my Making for Social Good class involved encouraging students to design posters about social justice and creating a strong visual presence on campus. Over 20 posters were designed using Canva and posted outside the BITlab in the lobby of the STEM building. Vinyl Screen Printing — Students in […]

Designing Your Life

Designing Your Life is a way to apply design thinking to your own life. I especially am enjoying some of the free resources here. Go to the Resources page and sign in then look for the Worksheets and Discussion questions. https://designingyour.life/the-book/

Creative Work is Like Working Out

I really like this video both to show to teachers and to middle school students. I feel like it helps to debunk so many of the myths surrounding creativity. For more wonderfulness on creativity and life check out Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert https://explorecreatelearngrow.com/2017/04/30/235/

How We Make the Shift as Teachers and Leaders from AJ Juliani

I loved this post What happens when students embrace design thinking? I especially found the below paragraph and chart incredibly helpful: Design thinking helps lays the groundwork for making this shift. When we shift from preparing students for what’s next, to helping them prepare for anything, a world of possibilities open up in their learning. How […]

Ada Lovelace & “Combinatory Play”

“One of the most interesting and timeless aspects of Lovelace’s story is that her foray into programming bore the mark of what Albert Einstein called “combinatory play,”which he considered the key characteristic of how his mind worked and which bespeaks the combinatorial nature of all creativity — the ability to connect the seemingly unconnected by […]