Panel 3

Innovate

Here you will find information on creative problem solving. I’ve included engineering, design thinking, makers, human-centered design, and creativity resources.

INTRO TO DESIGN THINKING HANDOUTS
Online Resources and Books https://goo.gl/BRrvw1
Participant Worksheet https://goo.gl/RmNDUJ
Design Thinking Cheat Sheet https://goo.gl/wawGNi
Design Thinking Summary https://goo.gl/KpVpe8

STARTING PLACES IN GENERAL
Stanford d.school – ​http://dschool.stanford.edu/ (in particular – Tools for Taking Action)
Human-Centered Design – http://www.designkit.org/human-centered-design

STARTING PLACES FOR EDUCATION
Launch Book & Resources – http://thelaunchcycle.com/
Design For Change – http://www.dfcworld.com/ (create an account to access all their resources for free)
Maker Ed – http://makered.org/
Harvard Project Zero – Visible Thinking – http://www.pz.harvard.edu/projects/visible-thinking
Harvard Project Zero – Agency by Design – http://www.pz.harvard.edu/projects/agency-by-design
Copper Hewitt Educator Resources – https://www.cooperhewitt.org/education/professional-development/educator-resources/

MODELS
Engineering Design Process Models (We use The Massachusetts Department of Education one listed first) ​http://linkengineering.org/Discover/EngineeringDesign/5824.aspx
LAUNCH Cycle http://www.spencerauthor.com/the-launch-cycle/

PROTOTYPING
Prototyping on paper (great for App Design) https://marvelapp.com/pop/
Floorplanner (great for room redesign) https://floorplanner.com/
Tinkercad (3D prototypes)  https://www.tinkercad.com/
The Most Magnificent Thing (good book for intro with younger students – before beginning prototyping) https://www.amazon.com/Most-Magnificent-Thing-Ashley-Spires/dp/1554537045

MORE INFORMATION
Tufts Center for Engineering Education and Outreach – http://ceeo.tufts.edu/
STEM Teaching Tools ​- http://stemteachingtools.org/tools
Design Thinking Resources here – goo.gl/3obhmR
Maker Resources – http://dsmakers.weebly.com/
Pinterest – https://www.pinterest.com/kaytree38/

BOOKS
Launch Book & Resources – http://thelaunchcycle.com/
Creating Innovators – http://www.tonywagner.com/807
Make Space – https://dschool.stanford.edu/resources/make-space-excerpts
Creative Confidence – https://www.creativeconfidence.com/
Big Magic – https://www.amazon.com/Big-Magic-Creative-Living-Beyond/dp/1594634726

INNOVATION STORIES
What If? – https://www.thehenryford.org/explore/stories-of-innovation/what-if/

RESOURCES
A Makerspace in the Science Area – Big Questions for Young Minds book by NAEYC – https://www.naeyc.org/resources/pubs/books/big-questions-young-minds
Tackling Heropreneurship – http://tacklingheropreneurship.com/
Design Dash Remixable – http://molly.is/writing/design-dash/

Panel 4

Project Work

TECHNOLOGY & INNOVATION IN PROJECT WORK

—2 GREAT RESOURCES—

​CANVA
Main Website
http://canva.com
Education
https://www.canva.com/education/
Teaching Materials https://designschool.canva.com/teaching-materials/
Design School
https://designschool.canva.com/
Notes – You can sign in with your Google Account. You can use online or the app.

ADOBE SPARK
Main Website
https://spark.adobe.com/
Notes – You will need to setup a teacher account for students to use as Adobe Spark can’t be used by children under 13.

FOR OTHER IDEAS PLEASE VISIT THE CREATE AND INNOVATE PAGE

HANDOUTS

Duke School Technology and Interactive Media in Preschool and Kindergarten

Technology Representation in Project Work for Students

Technology Representation in Project Work for Teachers

Tips and Tricks for Technology Integration in Project Work